top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureColby Jackson

Cranberry Lentil and Walnut Sausage Rolls

Updated: Feb 27, 2023

Rich sausage rolls filled with sweet cranberry sauce and crispy walnuts.




This recipe is adapted from Healthy Living James; I simply tweaked it to my liking.

The best sausage rolls I have ever tried

I'm not a huge fan of mushrooms, and neither is my partner, so I had my doubts about liking this recipe, but when I took that first bite, I couldn't believe how there was no taste of mushrooms at all; it was sensational. This recipe really is a must; it's so simple and fun to make that I knew I needed to share it with you.


Cranberry Lentil and Walnut Sausage Rolls


Ingredients


  • 1 tbsp olive oil

  • 2 garlic cloves diced

  • 100 g mushrooms sliced

  • 110 g walnuts chopped

  • 1 sprig fresh rosemary finely chopped

  • 1 sprig fresh thyme finely chopped

  • 1 can green lentils drained and rinsed

  • 1 tbsp soy sauce

  • 2 tbsp plain flour

  • 1 sheet puff pastry

  • 4 tbsp cranberry sauce


Method

  1. Chop the mushrooms, walnuts, garlic, rosemary, and thyme.

  2. Heat olive oil in a pan, add in what you just chopped, and fry for a few minutes until the mushrooms soften.

  3. Add in the drained lentils, soy sauce, and a generous pinch of salt and pepper, and fry for a further 5 minutes.

  4. Transfer the mix to a food processor and pulse into a mince texture (don't overblend into a paste).

  5. Tip out the mix into a large mixing bowl and add the flour, then fold it through the mix. Set aside for 5 minutes to cool.

  6. Meanwhile, roll out your pastry sheet. Place the lentil mix on one side of the sheet and shape into a long sausage roll (see photos above). top with cranberry sauce (optional) and fold over the top, crimp the edges, glaze with olive oil, and top with sesame seeds (optional). I like to slice the sausage into small sausage rolls before baking at 200°C for 25 minutes, or until golden.



Feel free to leave comments below and share your own experience in preparing this recipe.

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page